photo-56

photo 55

photo-52

photo-53
photo-57

photo-58

photo-59

photo

Finally we are getting some perfect Sydney weather. This is one of my most favourite places in the world, Balmoral Beach, in Sydney. Although I have been back in Sydney since September today was my first visit to this very special spot. Balmoral is usually one of my first stops when I come back to Sydney. It’s a place I hold in my heart a place that has so many beautiful memories. As a child growing up in Sydney my parents would pack a picnic and my brother, sister and I in the car and head for Balmoral a harbour beach about 20 minutes drive from home. We would spend the day playing in the sand, building sand castles and swimming. We would also be encouraged to chase seagulls for seagull pie a game my parents invented to keep us entertained. My parents were inventive when it came to games especially my Mum who managed to invent a game for every occasion. She even had a game for us to play when making our beds at home. Balmoral continued to be a favourite as I grew into my teenage years and well beyond. However there were times throughout my teenage years when I abandoned  this pretty harbour gem for the big surf of the Pacific ocean and the bleach blond haired surfers with tanned muscular bodies who adorned it. Such is the distraction of youth! I came back though, could not resist it, how could you. Coming down steep the hill from Military road the view across the blue green water through the Sydney Heads is breathtaking. Stepping onto the grass in bare feet is the first thing I do before making my way down the sandstone stairs and onto the golden sand with its crushed shell texture. The rock formations and rock pools are so inviting and the crystal clear water and feeling of the sand between my toes and under my feet grounds me. Matthew enjoyed sharing this special place with me today. Sydney Harbour at its best!