After chasing the fish van half way around the village I finally caught up with it in the platia, so it’s fresh sardines for dinner. The mornings are really chilly now and there has been a cool breeze during the day keeping the temperature down. Out of the wind there is still a lot of warmth in the sun and it still feels like summer. The landscape is dry and burnt out and the leaves have begun to drop. It won’t be long until rain will come and sooth this dry landscape. Last night we watched the film ‘Zorba the Greek’ I have to say this is one of the most stylish films I have seen. The lighting the grading the direction the styling and the camera work were all superb. The acting was passionate and the storyline raw. The values of a poor isolated community were challenging and also insightful. It is haunting my thoughts. I am now off to my Greek lesson I find it difficult, enjoyable, frustrating and generally an enjoyable challenge. Why wasn’t one of my parents Greek a question that constantly pops into my mind.

